Monday, March 30, 2020


Why are chakras so important to our well-being?<span class="rating-result after_title mr-filter rating-result-4650" >	<span class="mr-star-rating">			    <i class="fa fa-star mr-star-full"></i>	    	    <i class="fa fa-star mr-star-full"></i>	    	    <i class="fa fa-star mr-star-full"></i>	    	    <i class="fa fa-star mr-star-full"></i>	    	    <i class="fa fa-star-half-o mr-star-half"></i>	    </span><span class="star-result">	4.67/5</span>			<span class="count">				(3)			</span>			</span>

Why are chakras so important to our well-being? 4.67/5 (3)

The Seven Chakras


First of all, what is a chakra? The word chakra originates from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “disk”, and as part of ancient Vedi healing practices and techniques, yogis have worked with the chakra system for thousands of years. In Ayurveda, chakra refers to wheels of energy throughout the entire body. Ayurvedic medicine refers to illness as an energy blockage caused by one or more of the chakras. Acupuncture also acknowledges the energy blockage as the root cause of disease and pain. I became aware of chakras and the power of Reiki several years ago, when being affected by gastrointestinal issues and migraines. I had a few sessions of Reiki and acupuncture, and have not suffered from a migraine since. 

The Seven Chakras




The first chakra is the root or Muladhara. It sits at the base of your tailbone and is the center of your stability. When it is out of balance, you will feel nervous, dizzy, and anxious. An unbalanced root chakra can affect all aspects of your life. In Sanskrit, Muladhara means “support” or “root”. This is where the male sexual energy sits in the physical body. The masculine energy isn’t specifically male, it is a protective force field that brings a deep sense of comfort to anyone. When you learn to connect to this male energy stream, you will find a steady companion for your journey, one who can ground and stabilize you towards the best outcome for your work and life.

Essential oils for balancing the root chakra are:

  • Allspice
  • Angelica
  • Burdock
  • Cayenne
  • Cedarwood
  • Clove
  • Dandelion
  • Nutmeg
  • Paprika
  • Rosemary

Crystals for root chakra are black tourmaline, jet, onyx, red adventure, and red jasper.




The second chakra is the sacral chakra or Svadisthana. It is located between the reproductive organs, in the center of the lower abdomen. When this chakra isn’t balanced, the sense of creative potential is blocked.
This might manifest an apparent lack of inspiration for a creative project, a loss of interest in your art, or physical infertility.

Essential oils for balancing the sacral chakra are:

  • Blood Orange
  • Cinnamon Cassia
  • Fennel
  • Ginger
  • Tangerine
  • Vanilla
  • Ylang Ylang
tangerine quartz
 Crystals are carnelian, goldstone, imperial, topaz, orange calcite, peach, moonstone, shiva lingham, sunstone, tangerine quartz.



Third chakra is solar plexus or Manipura sits two finger widths above your belly button. When this chakra is well balanced and aligned with the rest of your chakras, you feel empowered, confident and capable.

Essential oils to align the solar plexus are:

  • Anise
  • Celery
  • Cinnamon
  • Cumin
  • Grapefruit
  • Helichrysum
  • Juniper
  • Lemon
  • Lily of the valley
  • Marshmallow
  • Melissa
  • Mint
  • Neroli
  • Tea Tree
  • Turmeric

Crystals are amber, citrine, copal, golden calcite, golden healer quartz, orpiment, pyrite, tiger’s eye, yellow aventurine, yellow fluorite, yellow jade.



The fourth chakra is heart or Anahata, it is located in the heart area. The heart chakra is the center of your body’s energy universe. It regulates your energy flow, just as the physical heart regulates your blood flow. When it is well aligned you are able to easily able to love others as you love yourself. If it is blocked you feel despair, and/or lack of hope or optimism. In this chakra sits the ability to hold, heal and help the entire planet, the enter universe, and here sits compassion for all people in all places across time.

Essential oils:

  • Bergamont
  • Black spruce
  • Cacao
  • Cardamom
  • Cilantro
  • Hawthorn berries
  • Jasmine
  • Lavender
  • Marjoram
  • Palmarosa
  • Parsley
  • Rose
  • Thyme

Crysals are chrysoprase, girasol, idocrase, mangano calcite, pink tourmaline, rhodochrosite, rose quart, ruby.



Fifth chakra is throat or Vishudda, located in the throat area. It holds the sum total of your lived experiences with voice, expression, and truth. This chakra is difficult to explore by many because they were silenced or repressed in childhood. The most important aspect of this chakra is not how you communicate, but what you communicate. Your truth, your deepest wisdom, the how” is your channel for sharing your truth.

Essential oils are:

  • Bay laurel
  • Blackberry
  • Blue Chamomile
  • Blue Yarrow
  • Coltsfoot
  • Common Sage
  • Elderberry
  • Eucalyptus
  • Fir Balsam
  • Geranium
  • Lemongrass
  • Petitgrain
  • Peru Balsam

Crystals are amazonite, angelite, aqua aura quartz, celestite, turquoise.



Six chakra is the third eye or Ajna is located in the forehead between your brow area. It is the seat of intuition and the clarities intuition brings. When it is open and activated you become energized. When your third eye is blocked, you will feel the opposite; unclear, unfocused and unable to sense what is happening around you. You may struggle to have faith in your broader purpose. You may be struck with the inability to make decisions.

Essential oils are:

  • Betel leaf
  • Blue lotus
  • Cypress
  • Eyebright
  • Juniper
  • Mandrake Root
  • Mugwort
  • Opoponax
  • Poppy


Crystals are azurite, blue aventurine, labradorite, lapis lazuli, sodalite, tanzanite.



7th chakra is the crown or Sahasrara located above the head, is your crown of holy connection to the divine. When it is open and functioning well, you feel intimately aware of your connection to your creator/source of energy. When it is blocked, you feel disconnected from the divine and unsure of your relationship to your creator. The crown chakra is your crown of divine wisdom and contact with the divine.

Essential oils:

  • Frangipani
  • Gotu kola
  • Lavender
  • Palo santo
  • Pink lotus
  • Spikenard
  • St-John’s wort

Crystals are amethyst, auralite 23, charoite, lepidolite, purple fluorite, scapolite, selenite, stitchtite, sugilite, 


Please rate this

Read more

%d bloggers like this: